When you buy through links on this site, we may earn a commission. This never changes the price you pay, and it never decides what we list.

Seven bemotrizinol sunscreens on Amazon, none of them on the FDA register

Search Amazon for bemotrizinol sunscreen and you get results. On September 3, 2026 we found seven listings that sell on the new filter's name, priced $25.99 to $35.99, some of them with dozens of reviews.

None of them names a brand you can look up. The store names are the ingredient itself, or a near-miss spelling of it: Bemotrizinol, bemotrizine, Bemotrizole. We searched the FDA's drug register for every brand, manufacturer and seller name that appeared on these listings. Not one of them is there.

Meanwhile the five bemotrizinol sunscreens that are on the register - two from Ultra Violette, two from Neutrogena's owner Kenvue, one from a Guangzhou manufacturer - were nowhere we could buy them that day.

What is listed

Amazon itemStore name shownPrice Size as statedRatingOn FDA register?
B0H7W25NMSBemotrizinol$31.00 100 mL (3.38 fl oz)3.9 (6)No
B0H69NFDHHMAVETTO$35.99 90 g3.5 (10)No
B0H7X5WCTZbemotrizine$35.99 3.17 oz3.4 (10)No
B0H7XQWMLNBlupure$25.99 Not stated3.0 (11)No
B0H7WX9LP3Bemotrizinol$30.00 Not stated3.6 (12)No
B0HBB96KVVBemotrizinol$29.99 100 mL3.9 (5)No
B0HH3RG5VPBemotrizinol$29.99 Not statedNoneNo
Prices, store names and ratings read from each Amazon product page on September 3, 2026. Sizes are as written in the listing title. "On FDA register" means the store or manufacturer name appears in the FDA National Drug Code Directory or DailyMed. Scroll sideways on a phone.

Two of the listings named the seller as Bemotrizole, one as guangximiaokeji and one as wangjinliangdedian. On the other three the seller was not shown on the page when we read it.

How we checked

Sunscreen is an over-the-counter drug in the United States, not a cosmetic. Companies that make drugs for sale here have to register their establishment with the FDA and list each product they make, and the FDA's National Drug Code Directory is built from those listings. That is why the real bemotrizinol launches showed up in a public database weeks before they reached a shelf.

So the check is simple, and anyone can run it:

  • We queried the National Drug Code Directory for every product containing bemotrizinol. It returned 11 records: eight finished sunscreens and three entries for the raw ingredient. None of the eight carries any of the names above, and none is filed in a 100 mL, 90 g or 3.17 oz package.
  • We then searched the same directory for each store, manufacturer and seller name - Bemotrizinol, Bemotrizole, bemotrizine, MAVETTO, Blupure. Every search returned no matches found.
  • We repeated the search on DailyMed, which holds the label filed for each listed drug. Zero results for all of them.

Our method page walks through the same two databases step by step, so you can check any sunscreen you are about to buy.

Details that are easy to miss

On the listing with the most reviews, the bullet points say the product is "Formulated with Bemotrizol". Bemotrizol is not the name of the filter. The product description block underneath reads, in full: "bemotrizol sunscreen bemotrizol sunscreen spray bemotrizol sunscreen lotion".

On the two listings we read in full, the listing text nowhere states how much of any active ingredient the product contains, and there is no Drug Facts panel in the text. A US sunscreen is required to carry a Drug Facts label on the package itself; an Amazon listing is not the package, so this is not a violation on its own. It does mean that the one number the listings are selling on - the amount of bemotrizinol - is not stated anywhere you can read before buying.

What this does and does not mean

We are not saying these products are counterfeit, unsafe or illegal. We did not buy one, we did not test one, and we are not a regulator. A company can also be listed with the FDA under a corporate name that does not match the store name on Amazon, and we would not be able to connect the two. We searched both the brand field and the labeler field, which is as far as public data goes.

What we can say is narrower and still useful: we could not confirm, in the databases where the maker of a US sunscreen is required to appear, that any of these seven products exists as a listed drug. For every real bemotrizinol launch so far, that confirmation took about thirty seconds.

We have not linked to the individual listings. You can reproduce the search by typing bemotrizinol sunscreen into Amazon, and the item numbers in the table above are the ones we read.

What we could not confirm

  • Who actually manufactures any of these products.
  • Whether they contain bemotrizinol at all. That would need laboratory testing.
  • Whether the packages carry a Drug Facts panel. We only read the listings.
  • Whether more such listings exist beyond the first pages of results.

Questions

Can I buy a bemotrizinol sunscreen in the US right now?
Not from a company on the FDA register. On September 3, 2026 Ultra Violette's two products were both waitlist-only on the brand's own store, the two Neutrogena filings were not on Neutrogena's own site or at the retailers we checked, and we have not been able to find a US seller for the fifth, which is filed by a Guangzhou manufacturer.
How do I check a listing myself?
Look up the brand name in the FDA's National Drug Code Directory. If a US sunscreen's maker is not there, the product it is selling has not been listed with the FDA under that name. Our method page shows how.
Is this specific to bemotrizinol?
The check works for any US sunscreen. What is specific to bemotrizinol is the gap: a filter people have read about for months, with almost nothing on sale, which is exactly the space unbranded listings fill.

Sources

  • FDA National Drug Code Directory, queried for bemotrizinol and for each store, manufacturer and seller name - openFDA drug/ndc API, read September 3, 2026
  • DailyMed, queried for each name - DailyMed web services, read September 3, 2026
  • Drug establishment registration and product listing requirements, section 510 of the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act - FDA, Electronic Drug Registration and Listing System, read September 3, 2026
  • Prices, store names, seller names and ratings - Amazon product pages for the seven item numbers listed above, read September 3, 2026

Source links are not affiliate links. This page records what public databases and public listings said on the date given. It is not advice about your skin, it does not describe what any product will do, and it is not a legal judgement about any seller.